Los Angeles Community College District

Community College District

The Los Angeles Community College District. LACCD is the Community College District serving Los Angeles, California, the United States and some of its neighboring cities and certain non-incorporated areas of Los Angeles County. The headquarters are located in downtown Los Angeles. Community College District, Los Angeles, California.

Community College District

LACCD is the Community College District that serves Los Angeles, California, the United States and some of its neighborhoods and certain non-incorporated areas of Los Angeles County. Headquartered in downtown Los Angeles[1] Over the past seventy-seven years, LACCD has taught more than three million schoolchildren.

As well as the typically college-aged student, the IACCD is also suitable for adult learners of all age levels. More than half of all LCCD undergraduates are over 25 years of age, and more than a fourth are 35 years of age and older. It trains almost three time as many Latin Americans and almost four time as many Afro-American Ph. D. degree programs as the entire University of California group.

About eighty per cent of LACCD-scholars come from under-served population. Los Angeles Community College District is the United States' biggest community college district and one of the biggest in the whole wide globe. Nine of the district's high schools provide education for Los Angeles undergraduates. The center caters to schoolchildren in the Alhambra, Beverly Hills, Burbank, Culver City, Garvey, Las Virgenes, Los Angeles, Montebello, Palos Verdes and San Gabriel neighborhoods.

The district includes the boundaries of Los Angeles, San Fernando, Calabasasasas, Agoura Hills, Hidden Hills, Burbank, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Culver Downtown, Alhambra, Monterey Park, San Gabriel, Rosemead (southern part), Montebello, Commerce, Vernon, The Huntington Park, Bell, Cudahy, Bell Gardens, South Gate, Gardena, Carson, Lomita, Palos Verdes Estates, Rolling Hills, Rancho Palos Verdes and many unregistered municipalities, such as East Los Angeles, Florence-Firestone, Athens and Walnut Park.

LACCD is made up of nine schools and has an area of more than 882 sqkm. The members of the committee are chosen by the district's electorate for a four-year term. Both the President and the Vice President of the Trustees are appointed by the Executive Committee at its yearly Organizing Committee meetings for one year.

The second vice chairman is chosen at the board's own judgement. Each year, a member is chosen - from June 1 to May 31 of each year. As a rule, the Executive Board holds meetings twice a months on Wednesdays, with the open meeting beginning at 2 p.m. and followed by a private meeting.

In certain cases, specific Board of Directors sessions are convened to deal with matters that cannot be dealt with in full at normal sittings.

Auch interessant

Mehr zum Thema